New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission was incorporated under the Electric Act, 1920. Generating stations owned by the Commission at Mar. 31, 1966 were as follows:—

Plont	Type	Capacity	Plant Type	Capacity
		kw.		kw.
Grand Falls Musquash Tobique Beechwood Milltown	Hydro Hydro Hydro	63,000 6,960 20,000 112,500 3,036	Grand Lake Steam Saint John (Dock St.) Steam Chatham Steam Grand Manan Diesel	101,250 16,000 32,500 1,650
Sisson	Hydro	10,000 63,365	TOTAL CAPACITY,	430,261

All the above generating units with the exception of Grand Manan are interconnected in a province-wide grid system. The statistical information given in Table 12 shows the growth of the Commission's undertakings since 1962. Power plant construction under way in New Brunswick during 1965 is outlined at pp. 644-645.

12.—Growth of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1962-66

Item	1962	1963	1964	1965	1966
High-voltage transmission line miles Distribution line	1,74±	1,845	1,947	2,093	2,255
	7,996	8,390	8,447	8,528	8,586
	107,415	117,073	118,443	121,061	124,530
	307,886	348,736	406,636	419,761	430,261
	1,425,489,140	1,644,740,890	1,797,928,340	2,207,165,360	2,571,484,730
	158,190,514	170,859,403	184,956,439	205,192,238	247,898,370
	20,309,856	22,591,554	24,650,853	29,244,088	33,108,342

Quebec.—Stream and Reservoir Control.—The Quebec Streams Commission was created in 1910 (SQ 1910, c. 5) and given additional powers in 1912 (RSQ 1925, c. 46) and 1930 (SQ 1930, c. 34); it was authorized to ascertain the water resources of the province, to make recommendations regarding their control and to construct and operate certain storage dams to regulate the flow of streams. On Apr. 1, 1955, the Commission was abolished and its powers and attributions transferred to the Hydraulic Resources Department, now the Department of Natural Resources. The rivers controlled by the Commission at the time of transfer, either by means of dams on the rivers or by regulating the outflow of lakes at the headwaters, were: the St. Maurice, the Gatineau, the Lièvre, the St. Francis, the Chicoutimi, the Au Sable and the Métis. The Commission also operated nine reservoirs on the North River, two in the watershed of the Ste. Anne de Beaupré River and one at the outlet of Lake Morin on Rivière du Loup (lower). In 1965, eleven auxiliary reservoirs on the St. Maurice System and two on the Gatineau were turned over by the Department of Natural Resources to the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission for operation and maintenance.

Storage reservoirs otherwise controlled or operated are: the Lake St. John, the Lake Manouane and Passe Dangereuse on the Peribonca River controlled by the Aluminum Company of Canada; the Onatchiway on the Shipshaw River controlled by Price Brothers and Company Limited; Memphremagog Lake on the Magog River controlled by the Dominion Textile Company; and Témiscamingue and Quinze Lakes on the Ottawa River controlled by the federal Department of Public Works. Storage reservoirs under the control of the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission are: Témiscouata Lake on the Mada-